You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Top 20 MSA Race Elite drivers selected
Eighty-six applications were received from drivers the length and breadth of the country, all of whom were between 16 and 25 and who aspired to reach the pinnacle of British motorsport`s driving talent. From this number, Brabham and his co-director at the Brabham Performance Clinic, Don Macpherson, had to select the 20 drivers who would be put forward for interview with an independent panel of judges.

They represent Formula Ford, Formula Renault, Formula BMW, Formula Palmer Audi, Formula 3, touring and sportscar racing and are:

Henry Arundel
Sam Bird
Tom Bradshaw
David Brown
Riki Christodoulou
Jack Clarke
Jonathan Cocker
Andrew Jordan
Jonathan Kennard
Callum Mcleod
Michael Meadows
Jeremy Metcalfe
Lee Mumford
Tom Onslow-Cole
Adrian Quaife-Hobbs
Dean Smith
James Sutton
Duncan Tappy
Colin Turkington
Jordan Williams

Brabham said of the selection, “It wasn`t an easy job to whittle the number down to 20 as the quality of applicants was very high. One of our main criteria was that the drivers must have a confirmed 2007 racing programme and this was a factor in the final selection as was, of course, their achievements to date. We also tried to cover as many British racing categories as possible, bearing in mind that this is a “Race Elite” programme and not just a single-seater programme.”

The MSA`s Chief Executive Officer, Colin Hilton was in full agreement with David Brabham and added, “We were delighted to see so many and varied applications for the MSA British Race Elite. Those twenty selected for the first round will now have to prove their mettle in a rigorous interview programme, after which we really will have discovered the first elite team of Britain`s young racing stars.”

Final judging will take place on 5th April at the Motor Sport Association`s headquarters in Colnbrook. The judges are Peter Briggs, a highly experienced single-seater Team Owner/Manager; Oliver Gavin, former British F3 Champion and current factory GM sportscar driver; Chris Gorne, race engineer in GP2 and Renault World Series and engineer to the winning A1 Team France; Matt James, Assistant Editor of Motorsport News with particular responsibilities to BTCC and national racing; David Leslie, one of Britain`s most versatile racing drivers having raced in single seaters, touring cars and sportscars, now a commentator with Eurosport. Their experience in and representation of a wide range of formulae will be invaluable in making the final selection of the six drivers who will become the first members of the MSA British Race Elite programme.