You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Motor Sports Association establishes `Young Writer and Photographer of the Year` awards
With support from Renault UK Limited - one of the most proactive
manufacturers in British motor sport - the MSA Young Writer and Young
Photographer of the Year will be open to all journalists covering motor
sport in the UK who are aged 25 or under on 1 January of each calendar year.
The winner of both categories will each receive a cheque for £1000 plus the
recognition that will be attached to such a prestigious award.

"The Motor Sports Association is acknowledging the important roles played by
both writers and photographers in the national and international promotion
of British motor sport. By setting up these two important awards, we are not
only rewarding excellence but also encouraging new and existing talent,"
said Colin Hilton, chief executive of the Motor Sports Association.

A panel of recognised experts has been formed - Colin Hilton (chief
executive, MSA), Tim Jackson (press and PR director, Renault UK), Tim
Bampton (MPA Media), Laurence Foster (editor-in-chief, Autosport) and Steven
Tee (managing director LAT Photographic) - and to ensure all possible
candidates will be given serious consideration entries will be canvassed.

"Clearly we have selected a panel of judges that is well placed to monitor
journalists, however we will also work closely with both circuit and event
PR officers up and down the country in our attempts to unearth talent,"
explains Jackson. "Renault has been a major force in British motorsport for
30 years and our national Formula Renault and Renault Clio programmes which
have helped discover so many Grand Prix and touring car drivers, underline
that commitment. As the most enthusiastic manufacturer in UK motor sport, it
seems fully appropriate that we are supporting this important new media
initiative set-up by the MSA."

The inaugural Renault MSA Writer and Photographer of the Year awards will be
presented in January at the MSA`s `Night of Champions` to be held at the
Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall, London on 17 January, 2003.

Release MSA 02/13: 11 December, 2002

For more information: Deborah Tee or Tim Bampton at MPA Media Limited,
Imperial House, Imperial Way, London SW6 2AG. Telephone: 0207 384 8700;
e-mail: or