You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Richard Caborn MP presents David Coulthard with Hawthorn Trophy
The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain`s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Only Nigel Mansell has won the award more times than Coulthard, whose fifth success takes him ahead of such illustrious names as Damon Hill and Sir Jackie Stewart, who both won it four times.

“As ever, David is a thoroughly deserving recipient of this trophy,” commented Hilton. "He has been one of the most consistent and successful F1 drivers in recent years, but he has also been a great ambassador for his sport and his country. His career is a shining example of how young drivers can work their way through the sport to reach the very top."

Previous winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1961 Stirling Moss (GB)
1962 Graham Hill (GB) *
1963 Jim Clark (GB) *
1964 John Surtees (GB) *
1965 Jim Clark (GB) *
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1967 Denny Hulme (NZ) *
1968 Graham Hill (GB) *
1969 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1970 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1972 Jackie Stewart (GB)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1974 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1975 James Hunt (GB)
1976 James Hunt (GB) *
1977 James Hunt (GB)
1978 John Watson (GB)
1979 Alan Jones (AUS)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS) *
1981 Alan Jones (AUS)
1982 John Watson (GB)
1983 John Watson (GB)
1984 Derek Warwick (GB)
1985 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1986 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1987 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1988 Derek Warwick (GB)
1989 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1990 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1991 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1992 Nigel Mansell (GB) *
1993 Damon Hill (GB)
1994 Damon Hill (GB)
1995 Damon Hill (GB)
1996 Damon Hill (GB) *
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *
1998 David Coulthard (GB)
1999 Eddie Irvine (GB)
2000 David Coulthard (GB)
2001 David Coulthard (GB)
2002 David Coulthard (GB)
2003 David Coulthard (GB)

* = world champion