You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

MSA English Rally Championship

Round 3: Betta Somerset Stages

Matthew Robinson and co-driver Sam Collis took the championship lead with victory in Class E5 on the Betta Somerset Stages.

Robinson and Collis, who also won the Historic category, beat Matt Edwards to the win. Rory Jones and Tom Hughes won the large E1 class for standard production cars but the early championship leaders Neil Andrew and Dom Adams were not so lucky, retiring in the Croydon stage.

Darren Pinchin and Karen Jenkins won the hotly contested 1400cc category ahead of Joe Evett and Calvin Houldsworth. Andy Burnell and Scott Cleverdon produced a stunning performance on their local event to take maximum points in class E3, while Sacha Kakad and Andrew Price won class E4 again in their Fiesta ST.

Results (class winners)
E5 Matthew Robinson / Sam Collis (Ford Escort Mk2) 46m43s
E4 Sacha Kakad / Andrew Price (Ford Fiesta ST) 51m38s
E3 Andy Burnell / Scott Cleverdon (Skoda Felicia) 47m41s
E2 Darren Pinchin / Karen Jenkins (Proton Satria) 48m35s
E1 Rory Jones / Tom Hughes (MG ZR) 55m58s

Provisional championship standings
1 Matthew Robinson – 74 points
2 Rory Jones – 70
3 Justin Lawson – 66
4 Sacha Kaked – 65
5 Jon Ballinger – 57

2014 calendar
February 15: Wyedean Forest Stages
March 8: Malcolm Wilson Rally
April 12: Betta Somerset Stages
June 7: Rainworth Skoda Dukeries
August 30: Woodpecker
Sept 27: Trackrod Forest Stages
Nov 8: Tempest 2 Rally