You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Motor sport recognition in New Year Honours

The Motor Sports Association welcomes the New Year Honours awards made to the world of motor sport.


Ross Brawn, who guided his nascent Brawn GP team to the World Championship in 2009 receives an OBE for more than 30 years of service to motor sport that has brought him no fewer than eight Drivers’ and eight Constructors’ Formula 1 world titles.


Jenson Button is awarded an MBE in recognition of his performances for Brawn GP in 2009 that yielded six race wins and his first Formula 1 World Drivers’ Championship.


David Butler also receives an MBE for services to disabled motor sport. As Chairman of British Motor Sport for the Disabled which he established in 1987, David Butler has been instrumental in setting the safety criteria and assessment that has opened up motor sport to disabled drivers. He is still the only disabled driver worldwide to have held both an International Race and International Rally Licence, and his persistence and dedication has now enabled many others to follow his lead.


Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association, said:

"On behalf of British motor sport, we are delighted to see both Ross and Jenson honoured for their outstanding achievements in 2009. Last year's efforts were the culmination of many years of dedication and hard work by both men – not forgetting, of course, the great teams behind them – and it is fitting that their success has been noted by Queen and country.


“David Butler has worked tirelessly to benefit others and has greatly enhanced the status of disabled people, especially those wishing to be involved in motor sport. He has been an inspiration, a role model and a symbol of hope to many disabled people and he is a fully deserving of this great recognition.”


Release MSA10-001: 5 January 2010