You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Entries open for Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist and Photographer of the Year

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) is inviting submissions for the ninth Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards.


Established in 2002 with support from Renault UK Limited, these two awards are designed to recognise and encourage the new generation of motor sport reporters and photographers working within UK motor sport. A panel of recognised experts from the sport and the media will consider the applications and the eventual winners will receive their awards at the MSA’s prestigious ‘Night of Champions’ ceremony in January.


The winners not only receive recognition as notable talents of the future, but also cheques for £1,000. The winning photographer will also have their pictures displayed on the walls within Motor Sports House.


Renault UK Press & PR Director, Tim Jackson, said: “Renault has supported these awards for almost a decade now and in that time we have recognised many young hopefuls who have gone on to enjoy successful careers within the sport. We are delighted to continue our tradition of nurturing the best young talent in motoring, be they journalists, photographers, engineers or competitors.”


Last year’s winning photographer, Dom Romney, has used the accolade as a springboard to establishing his own independent agency. “It has been a very exciting year,” says Romney. “This time last year I was working on a local newspaper and covering motor sport in my spare time, but thanks to the Renault Award I have now set myself up as a freelance photographer. Being able to describe myself as the MSA Young Photographer of the Year has been a huge advantage and invaluable in getting taken seriously.”


MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton, said: “Winning one of these awards is a real boost for any young journalist or photographer looking to make their way in the motor sport media. We look forward to crowning the latest deserving winners at the Royal Automobile Club in January.”


Candidates must have been aged 25 or under on 1st January 2010 and be able to demonstrate published work involving domestic UK motor sport. They can come from local, regional, specialist or electronic media and are required to submit a minimum of three published articles or photographs from the UK media this year.


Application forms are available by email from and entries must be submitted by 19th November 2010.


Previous winners:



Journalist: Ben Anderson, Autosport

Photographer: Dominic Romney, Freelance



Journalist: Ed Foster, Motor Sport

Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT



Journalist: Steven English, Autosport

Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT



Journalist: Kevin Turner, Autosport

Photographer: Michael Hoyer, Freelance



Journalist: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News

Photographer: Gavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering



Journalist: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket

Photographer: Glenn Dunbar, LAT



Journalist: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News

Photographer: Jonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes



Journalist: Will Gray, Collings Sport
Photographer: Jakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic