You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Barry O'Neill is 2010 JLT MSA Marshal of the Year

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) is pleased to announce that Barry O’Neill, Vice Chairman of Northern Ireland’s Motorsport Marshalling Partnership (MMP) and a member of Omagh Motor Club, has been named the 2010 JLT MSA Marshal of the Year.

The Awards Panel – comprising Nicky Moffitt, Mike Sones and John Arnold, and chaired by MSA Head of External Affairs Allan Dean-Lewis – agreed that O’Neill, aged 34 from Omagh in Northern Ireland, had combined skills, experience and enthusiasm to bring a new level of professionalism to marshals’ training in Northern Ireland.

This year O’Neill facilitated the launch of an MMP cadet marshal scheme, which attracted almost 100 recruits for its maiden training event in April. He also acted as Chief Marshal on the Ulster International Rally and has begun to produce a quarterly newsletter that keeps marshals informed of matters of interest. He also competes in rallying, using a car prepared by the local college.

O’Neill said: “I was shocked when I was told that I’d won the Marshal of the Year award. I didn’t start marshalling to win prizes and I didn’t think I’d ever be in a position to receive such a prestigious accolade. I’d like to dedicate the award to all the volunteers who take the time to get out there and keep motor sport moving.”

O’Neill will receive £250 and a pewter salver at the MSA’s Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in January.

The panel would also like to Highly Commend Karl Yeoman of Morpeth, who was nominated by Cramlington & District Motor Club with support from the Association of North East & Cumbria Car Clubs (ANECCC). This year Yeoman has become a key figure in rally marshalling throughout the region, and took it upon himself to secure sponsorship from local businesses to support Cramlington DMC’s marshalling activities.

Past winners:
2009: Nadine Lewis
2008: Steve Weston
2007: Peter Wilson
2006: Bob Wright
2005: Plunkett Boyle
2004: Mark Johnson
2003: Stephen Green

Release MSA11-002: 4 January 2011
For media information only. No regulatory value.