You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

MSA Night of Champions ceremony honours best of British

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) crowned the 2010 British motor sport champions at its prestigious Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in London on Friday 21st January.

Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team Principal Ross Brawn and BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team Principal Malcolm Wilson were on hand to present awards, while TV broadcaster Steve Rider acted as Master of Ceremonies for the event.

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Nathan Aston
StingrayRV MSA British Junior Kart Championship & Mark W Hines Memorial Trophy: Jake Dennis
StingrayRV MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Mark Litchfield
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Jason Dredge
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Duncan Stephens
SBD Motorsport MSA British Sprint Championship: Nick Algar
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Andy Robinson
MSA British Autocross Championship: Ross Westgarth
Nicholson McLaren MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Martin Groves
Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship: David Stokes (driver) & Guy Weaver (co-driver)
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: Ian Wright (driver) & Bianca Wright (passenger)
Link Up Ltd MSA British Autotest Championship: Alastair Moffatt
Britpart MSA British Cross Country Championship: Tim Dilworth (driver) & Anthony Brinkman (navigator)
Dulux Trade MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Elfyn Evans (driver) & Andrew Edwards (co-driver)
Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship: Keith Cronin (driver) & Barry McNulty (co-driver)
Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship Teams Winner: JR Motorsports
Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship: Pat Doran
Avon Tyres British GT Championship: David Ashburn
Cooper Tires British F3 International Series: Jean-Eric Vergne
Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: Honda/Dynamics
Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship: Jason Plato

A series of special awards was also presented:

JLT MSA Club of the Year: Cramlington and District Motor Club
JLT MSA Marshal of the Year: Barry O’Neill
RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Jake Cook
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Alice Powell
Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist of the Year: Robert Ladbrook
Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Photographer of the Year: William Neill

MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton, said: “The Night of Champions is one of the most important dates in the MSA’s calendar, as it is the evening on which we pay tribute to those who have achieved success at the highest level in their chosen motor sport disciplines. The ceremony also serves to remind us of both the immense diversity of our sport, and the world renowned depth of talent that the UK continues to produce year on year.”

Release MSA11-011: 24 January 2011
For media information only. No regulatory value.