You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Best of British honoured at MSA Night of Champions ceremony

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) crowned the 2011 British motor sport champions at its prestigious Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in London on Friday 20 January.

MSA Chairman Alan Gow and FIA Deputy President for Sport Graham Stoker were on hand to present awards, while broadcaster Steve Rider acted as Master of Ceremonies.

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Daniel Ticktum, from East Grinstead in West Sussex
MSA British Junior Kart Championship & Mark W Hines Memorial Trophy: Callan O’Keeffe, from Hindhead in Surrey
MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Tom Joyner, from Braintree in Essex
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt, from Warrington in Cheshire
MSA British Autocross Championship: Richard Davies, from Haverfordwest in Dyfed
MSA British Autotest Championship: Steven Ferguson, from County Tyrone in Northern Ireland
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Barrie Parker, from Ascot in Berkshire
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: Ian Bell, from Bedord in Bedfordshire
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Graham Ellis, from Westcliff-on-Sea in Essex
MSA British Sprint Championship: Stewart Robb Snr, from Blair Drummond in Stirling
MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Scott Moran, from Ludlow in Shropshire
MSA British Rallycross Championship: Julian Godfrey, from Heathfield in East Sussex
MSA British Cross Country Championship: Ian Rochelle & Chris Hammond, from Bridgnorth in Shropshire
MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Martin McCormack, from Magherafelt in County Londonderry
MSA British Historic Rally Championship: David Stokes & Guy Weaver, from Dursley in Gloucestershire and Oaken in Staffordshire
MSA British Rally Championship: David Bogie & Kevin Rae, from Dumfries and Hawick in Roxburghshire
MSA British Rally Championship Teams Winner: Autosport Technology, based at Tonbridge in Kent
MSA British Endurance Championship: Craig Wilkins and Aaron Scott, from Lichfield in Staffordshire and Telford in Shropshire
British GT Championship: James Geddie & Glynn Geddie, from Abderdeen
British Formula 3 International Series: Felipe Nasr, from Brasilia in Brazil
MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: Honda
MSA British Touring Car Championship: Matt Neal, from Kidderminster in Worcestershire

A series of special awards was also presented:

FIA Outstanding Official of the Year: Barry O’Neill, from Omagh in Northern Ireland
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Carolynn Hoy, from Inverness
Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy: Racing Steps Foundation
JLT MSA Club of the Year: Omagh Motor Club
JLT MSA Marshal of the Year: Andrew Holley, from Shawbury in Shropshire
RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Josh Webster, from Stowmarket in Suffolk
Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist of the Year: Dan McCalla, from Milton Keynes in Buckinghamshire
Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Photographer of the Year: Dominic Romney, from Heckington in Leicestershire

MSA Chief Executive, Colin Hilton, said: “The Night of Champions is our opportunity to celebrate those who have excelled at their chosen motor sport discipline. The number of championship trophies presented on the night was a fitting reminder of the great depth of British motor sport, while the recipients of the special awards illustrate why the UK motor sport is admired around the world.”

23 January 2012