You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

New award to recognise volunteers in motor sport

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) has rebranded its Marshal of the Year Award as the JLT MSA Volunteer Official of the Year Award in recognition of 2013 being designated the MSA Year of the Volunteer.

From this year onwards, volunteers can be nominated in each of the following categories:

• Steward / Clerk of the Course
• Technical Official (Scrutineer, Timekeeper etc)
• Marshal
• Medical / Rescue / Recovery / Safety
• Other.

The winner in each category will receive a commemorative award at next January’s MSA Night of Champions prize giving ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club. The individual judged to be the best overall across all categories will be declared the JLT MSA Volunteer Official of the Year, winning £250 and a silver pewter salver.

Similarly the judging panel for the 2013 JLT MSA Club of the Year Award will take particular interest in clubs’ engagement with MSA Year of the Volunteer celebrations or initiatives. The winning club will receive £1,000 and a trophy, also at the Night of Champions. There are second and third prizes of £500 and £250 respectively, with commemorative awards.

Nick Bunting, MSA Chief Executive, said: “We are delighted to recognise the MSA Year of the Volunteer with the 2013 JLT MSA Club and Volunteer Official of the Year Awards. The prizes are a small token of the sport’s gratitude for the hundreds of clubs and thousands of volunteer officials without whom there would be no motor sport.”

The MSA Club and Volunteer of the Year Awards are kindly sponsored by the MSA’s insurance broker, JLT. The full criteria and entry forms can be found on the MSA website at

JLT MSA Club of the Year past winners
2012: Shenington Kart Racing Club
2011: Omagh Motor Club
2010: Cramlington and District Motor Club
2009: Chelmsford Motor Club
2008: Rathfriland Motor Club
2007: Aberdeen & DMC
2006: Cumbria Kart Racing Club
2005: Wigton MC
2004: Jersey MC & LCC
2003: Dukeries MC
2002: Scottish Rootes EC
2001: Magherafelt & DMC
2000: North Devon MC
1999: Ilkley & DMC
1998: Woolbridge MC
1997: Torbay MC
1996: Port Talbot MC
1995: Ilkley & DMC
1994: Aberdeen & DMC
1993: Knutsford & DMC

JLT MSA Marshal of the Year past winners
2012: Stephen O’Neill
2011: Andrew Holley
2010: Barry O’Neill
2009: Nadine Lewis
2008: Steve Weston
2007: Peter Wilson
2006: Bob Wright
2005: Plunkett Boyle
2004: Mark Johnson
2003: Stephen Green

19 June 2013