You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Lewis Hamilton receives Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team driver Lewis Hamilton was delighted to receive the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy from Nick Bunting, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association (MSA), at Silverstone today (Saturday 29 June) after taking pole position for tomorrow’s Santander British Grand Prix.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the previous year’s FIA Formula One World Drivers’ Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain's first F1 champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Hamilton finished fourth in the 2012 F1 championship following race victories in Canada, Hungary, Italy and the United States, plus a season’s best seven pole positions. He has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy twice previously for his rookie 2007 season and his title-winning 2008 campaign.

Nick Bunting said: “Lewis’s 2012 season underlined his stunning speed and race craft, with more poles than any other driver and four fantastic grand prix victories. It was a pleasure to present him with the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy, particularly at Silverstone just hours after he took pole position for his home grand prix.”

29 June 2013