You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

MSA honours best of British at prestigious ceremony

The winners of British motor sport’s premier championship titles were crowned at the Motor Sports Association’s prestigious Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club in London (18 January).

Recently retired sportscar racing legend Allan McNish, the Guest of Honour, presented trophies to all of the 2013 MSA British Champions. McNish, the reigning Le Mans 24 Hours winner and FIA World Endurance Champion, was also honoured with a special presentation from MSA Chairman Alan Gow in recognition of his outstanding career and support of British motor sport. A series of special awards was also presented to recognise outstanding achievement across the motor sport spectrum.

Rob Jones, MSA Acting Chief Executive, said: “The Night of Champions is one of the most prestigious awards ceremonies in UK motor sport, bringing together all those who have excelled in their chosen discipline to win the ultimate prize in the domestic sport: an MSA British Championship title. We were delighted to welcome Allan McNish to present the winners’ trophies, and also to reward some of the unsung heroes of our sport with a series of special awards.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Oliver York
MSA British Junior Kart Championship & Mark W Hines Memorial Trophy: Jehan Daruvala
MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Daniel Borton
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt
MSA British Autotest Championship: Richard Pinkney
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Duncan Stephens
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: Thomas Bricknell
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Bruno Bader
MSA British Sprint Championship: Colin Calder
MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Scott Moran
MSA British Rallycross Championship: Julian Godfrey
MSA British Cross Country Championship: Dan Lofthouse and Jonny Koonja
MSA British Historic Rally Championship: Richard Hill (driver) and Steffan Evans (co-driver)
MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Benjamyn McKay
MSA British Rally Championship Manufacturer: Citroen UK
MSA British Rally Championship: Jukka Korhonen and Marko Salminen
MSA British Endurance Championship: Ian Loggie and Chris Jones
British GT Championship: Andrew Howard
British Formula 3 International Series: Jordan King
MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: Honda
MSA British Touring Car Championship: Andrew Jordan

Special awards:

JLT MSA Club of the Year: Wigton Motor Club
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Overall: Lynne Kendall
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Rescue: Michael Marner
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Clerk of the Course: Martin Bean
Renault MSA Young Journalist of the Year: Alex Harmer
Renault MSA Young Photographer of the Year: Tom Loomes
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Maria de Villota*
RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Sennan Fielding
Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy**: Williams Hybrid Power

*Awarded posthumously.
**Awarded to an individual or group for excellence within motor sport.

20 January 2014