You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Jenson Button receives Hawthorn Memorial Trophy
The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain`s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Jenson won the award for the first time in 2004, ending a four year period of dominance by David Coulthard. In 2005, however, Button had to work harder to secure the award, narrowly beating Australian Mark Webber at the final race of the season. The outright record is held by Nigel Mansell; whose name appears seven times on the stunning piece of silverware.

“I am delighted that Jenson continues to lead the way for British drivers in Formula 1,” commented Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. "His career is a great example to any young driver hoping to rise through the ranks of national motorsport to the pinnacle of international competition. The MSA remains committed to securing increased British representation at the highest level and we hope to make some interesting announcements to this effect before the end of the year."

Previous winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1961 Stirling Moss (GB)
1962 Graham Hill (GB) *
1963 Jim Clark (GB) *
1964 John Surtees (GB) *
1965 Jim Clark (GB) *
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1967 Denny Hulme (NZ) *
1968 Graham Hill (GB) *
1969 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1970 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1972 Jackie Stewart (GB)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1974 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1975 James Hunt (GB)
1976 James Hunt (GB) *
1977 James Hunt (GB)
1978 John Watson (GB)
1979 Alan Jones (AUS)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS) *
1981 Alan Jones (AUS)
1982 John Watson (GB)
1983 John Watson (GB)
1984 Derek Warwick (GB)
1985 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1986 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1987 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1988 Derek Warwick (GB)
1989 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1990 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1991 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1992 Nigel Mansell (GB) *
1993 Damon Hill (GB)
1994 Damon Hill (GB)
1995 Damon Hill (GB)
1996 Damon Hill (GB) *
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *
1998 David Coulthard (GB)
1999 Eddie Irvine (GB)
2000 David Coulthard (GB)
2001 David Coulthard (GB)
2002 David Coulthard (GB)
2003 David Coulthard (GB)
2004 Jenson Button (GB)
2005 Jenson Button (GB)
* World Champion

Release MSA06-032: 11 June 2006