You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Cumbria Kart Racing Club wins top 2006 British motor sport award
It`s the first time a kart club has ever won the prestigious Alexander Forbes MSA Club of the Year award; representatives will receive the trophy and cheque for £1,000 at the MSA`s annual ‘Night of Champions` awards ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London in January. They will share the stage with the winners of every major championship in British motor sport from 2006.

“It`s a huge honour for us,” confirms Press and PR Officer Iain Blair. “We are only a small club with just over 100 racing members but we work hard both locally and within the karting scene to overcome our somewhat distant geographical location up here in Cumbria. To win this award is a huge surprise to all of us and everyone involved in the club is absolutely delighted to receive this recognition.”

The MSA`s decision-making Awards Panel was impressed with the well-structured support the club provided for the MSA`s Volunteers in Motorsport initiative as well as its pro-active promotion for last summer`s inaugural National Motorsports Week. The club has also made significant investments into its Rowrah circuit and has recently built a splendid new clubhouse, which is available for a wide range of community activities.

“Sadly, unlike many other sports we`re not eligible for lottery or other government funding, so we had to raise around £200,000 from our own activities to fund the new clubhouse,” explains Blair.

Allan Dean-Lewis, Head of External Affairs at the Motor Sports Association, is particularly pleased with the Awards Panel`s decision. He says: “It`s most appropriate that the Cumbria Kart Racing Club should win the Alexander Forbes MSA Club of the Year Award 2006 during the year in which karting celebrated its 50th anniversary. The club has not only worked tirelessly to improve its facilities but has also built and maintained good community links. Aware of the value and benefits of positive publicity and PR, it has generated excellent coverage for its events and venue in regional and local newspapers as well as the local BBC radio website.”

The remarkable achievements of the Cumbria Kart Racing Club are further emphasised by the accomplishments of all those short-listed for this year`s top accolade. Providing stiff competition, the Manx Motor Sport Marshals Association was awarded second place for its support of Volunteers in Motorsport as well as its initiative to provide members with good quality rucksacks packed with all the equipment required for marshalling. Third place went to the Mull Car Club, which successfully staged its first forest event this year and has worked closely with its local primary school on the island to promote motor sport to a new generation.

The MSA also rewarded the exceptional efforts of the two further clubs – the Ballynahinch & District Motor Club and the Ilkley & District Motor Club – via the presentation of Highly Commended certificates.

Past overall winners: Knutsford & DMC (1993), Aberdeen & DMC (1994), Ilkley & DMC (1995 & 1999), Port Talbot MC (1996), Torbay MC (1997), Woolbridge MC (1998), North Devon MC (2000), Magherafelt & DMC (2001), Scottish Rootes EC (2002), Dukeries MC (2003), Jersey MC & LCC (2004), Wigton MC (2005).

Release MSA06-058: 10 November 2006