You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Jenson Button receives Hawthorn Memorial Trophy
The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain`s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Jenson was presented with the trophy in the company of the first recruits to the MSA`s British Race Elite programme. Launched at the start of this year, the Race Elite scheme has selected six of the brightest young prospects in UK motor racing to put them through a structured programme of development to maximise their chances of making it to the very top of the sport.

“Jenson rose through the ranks of British motor sport and we were delighted to see him claim his maiden victory in Hungary last year,” commented Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. "The British motor sport scene is still the best in the world as illustrated by the fact that no fewer than nine of the current F1 grid cut their teeth in our championships.

“The MSA is also committed to securing increased British representation at the highest level of motor sport and as a result we have invested substantial funds into both the Race Elite programme and its sister operation in rallying. We hope that in the coming years, many of these young drivers will graduate to F1 and race alongside Jenson, Lewis, Anthony and David."

MSA British Race Elite members

Henry Arundel; Sam Bird; Andrew Jordan;
Adrian Quaife-Hobbs; Michael Meadows; Colin Turkington

Previous winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1961 Stirling Moss (GB)
1962 Graham Hill (GB) *
1963 Jim Clark (GB) *
1964 John Surtees (GB) *
1965 Jim Clark (GB) *
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS) *
1967 Denny Hulme (NZ) *
1968 Graham Hill (GB) *
1969 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1970 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1972 Jackie Stewart (GB)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GB) *
1974 Denny Hulme (NZ)
1975 James Hunt (GB)
1976 James Hunt (GB) *
1977 James Hunt (GB)
1978 John Watson (GB)
1979 Alan Jones (AUS)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS) *
1981 A lan Jones (AUS)
1982 John Watson (GB)
1983 John Watson (GB)
1984 Derek Warwick (GB)
1985 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1986 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1987 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1988 Derek Warwick (GB)
1989 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1990 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1991 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1992 Nigel Mansell (GB) *
1993 Damon Hill (GB)
1994 Damon Hill (GB)
1995 Damon Hill (GB)
1996 Damon Hill (GB) *
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *
1998 David Coulthard (GB)
1999 Eddie Irvine (GB)
2000 David Coulthard (GB)
2001 David Coulthard (GB)
2002 David Coulthard (GB)
2003 David Coulthard (GB)
2004 Jenson Button (GB)
2005 Jenson Button (GB)
2006 Jenson Button (GB)
* = world champion

Picture shows (l-r):
Adrian Quaife-Hobbs; Michael Meadows; Henry Arundel; Colin Hilton; Jenson Button; Andrew Jordan; Colin Turkington; Sam Bird. To download a high resolution version, please click on the image.