You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

MSA British Race Elite members hit the top
On Sunday at Thruxton Circuit in Hampshire, 25-year-old Colin Turkington was crowned the Independent Drivers Champion in the British Touring Car Championship. After a season-long battle with some top touring car names including Mike Jordan, father of Colin`s fellow MSA Elite member, Andrew, Colin finally claimed victory during the last race weekend of the BTCC season.

“I`m delighted to have won the Independents` Championship,” said Colin. We had very strong pace all day in the BMW but, with the title at stake, I didn`t want to take any risks so just kept trying to piece together the right strategy in my head. It`s great to win the title – there are some great names on that trophy – and I`m really happy for Team RAC which has been instrumental in my success this season.”

Turkington has this year achieved 12 independent wins – three of them outright race victories – making him a worthy champion. The championship has been a highly competitive contest with five different drivers – Turkington, Adam Jones, Tom Onslow-Cole, Mike Jordan and Mat Jackson – having all led at some stage. In addition, Turkington and team-mate Onslow-Cole helped Team RAC to a convincing Independent Teams` title.

Hot on the heels of the news that Andrew Jordan will step up to the BTCC in 2008 at Team Eurotech alongside his father, Mike, comes confirmation that he has been crowned the BRDA Rallycross Supercar Champion.

The final round of the MSA British Rallycross Championship takes place at Croft this coming weekend, and Andrew is currently lying in second place in the standings having been a consistent winner over the season to date. Another strong showing could well bring him his second Rallycross championship title of 2007, and all within the MSA British Race Elite programme wish him well.

Following on from this good news, comes word that Henry Arundel, who finished third in the Formula BMW UK Championship, has been selected as one of the six candidates for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.

The six drivers will be evaluated by a panel of judges at Snetterton, where they will drive a World Series by Renault car, a DTM Mercedes, and a Porsche Carrera Cup car. They will also be interviewed by the judges at the McLaren Technology Centre, and the winner will be announced at the Autosport Awards in London on December 2.