You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Peter Wilson awarded JLT Sport/MSA Marshal of the Year
Under the banner of the British Motorsport Marshals Club, Wilson led three colleagues who collectively became known as ‘Team Wilson`, in a concerted drive in liaison with the Volunteers in Motorsport initiative, to raise the profile of marshalling, particularly at British Touring Car Championship rounds.

The results of Team Wilson`s endeavours led to more than 1,350 members of the public putting forward their names to express an interest in becoming motor sport marshals.

“It is a great honour and a surprise to win this award, but I really cannot take all the credit,” admits Wilson. “It`s been a proper team effort and in particular I have to thank my wife, my brother Ken and his partner for all their support.

“After nearly 40 years in the sport, we have seen marshal numbers falling and we wanted to do something about it, not least because it would be nice to have a weekend off every now and again! We`ve had great help from the Volunteers in Motorsport scheme, Alan Gow and Jonathan Palmer have been extremely supportive throughout the year, and I must also thank BTCC driver Martyn Bell who gave us an initial base in his pit garage in the early days. And of course thanks to everyone around the country who has given us such a great response this season.”

Wilson will collect the prestigious trophy – as well as a cheque for £250 – at the MSA`s annual Night of Champions ceremony held at the Royal Automobile Club on Pall Mall in London during January. The ceremony is attended each year by some of the most famous names in British motor sport.

Allan Dean-Lewis, Head of External Affairs at the Motor Sports Association comments: “Team Wilson has shown what can be done by a concerted effort. In association with the Volunteers in Motorsport programme, Peter has had an enormous impact this year, not just in terms of recruitment, but also in terms of raising the profile of the many volunteer heroes who give their time freely to the sport. The Award Panel unanimously agreed that there could be no more deserving recipient of this national award.”

Previous winners:
Stephen Green (2003); Mark Johnson (2004); Plunkett Boyle (2005);
Bob Wright (2006)

Release MSA07-062: 2 November 2007