You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Aberdeen & District Motor Club awarded JLT Sport/MSA Club of the Year
It is the second time that the club has won the MSA`s Club of the Year award, now sponsored by leading insurance broker JLT Sport, having taken the prize previously in 1994. Representatives of the club will receive a trophy and cheque for £1,000 at the MSA`s annual ‘Night of Champions` awards ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London in January, where they will share the stage with the winners of every major championship in British motor sport from 2007.

“ADMC are both delighted and proud of this award,” confirms Club Secretary, Janet Dickson. “We didn`t realise how much support and respect ADMC had in the motor sport world and it just goes to show what can be achieved with team work. It is a very emotional time!”

The club is now effectively being run by a new and growing generation of officials whose enthusiasm and drive has enabled their main rally event – the Granite Rally – to go from strength to strength as a result of the level of increasing sponsorship attracted to a high quality event.

The club promotes entry level motorsport efficiently and a thrust of their National Motorsport Week efforts was to target 16-26 year olds to take part in a Production Car Autotest, preceded by a short talk and DVD show from Grampian Fire and Rescue on road safety.

The club has strong community-based ties which raise considerable funds for local charities every year and they have promoted their club through the Volunteers in Motorsport initiative at local shows, underpinning these appearances with newcomer marshals training days and continuing mentor schemes.

One of the club`s main goals for 2008 is to increase the involvement of whole families at events. The club has been represented on the Women in Motorsport and Next Generation Forum groups, and has gained good publicity for its efforts throughout 2007 in local, regional and national publications.

Allan Dean-Lewis, Head of External Affairs at the Motor Sports Association, comments: “Our congratulations go to Aberdeen & District Motor Club. The competition this year was very close and the judges had to consider the year-long programme of activities as well as the support each club had given to National Motorsport Week. ADMC offered the best all-round entry, including building membership, attracting new participants, working with the community and putting on excellent events.”

It was a difficult decision for the MSA panel, as ADMC faced stiff competition from the other shortlisted nominees.

Second prize, an MSA Flag Trophy and £500 goes to Cirencester Car Club, for whom the efforts of a small number of key members have ensured that the club has re-grown successfully after a low point of its operation during 2003. Focusing on clubsport level activities rather than major competitive events, Cirencester CC runs a wide range of club events appealing to especially younger and newer members and the last 4 years have seen their membership grow from 30 to 120. The club actively promoted a very detailed programme of events for National Motorsport Week, gaining good publicity in local and regional media as a result, and has been instrumental in forging links with local organisations, such as schools and colleges, to good effect.

Third prize, an MSA Flag Trophy and £250 is awarded to Chelmsford Motor Club. Chelmsford is a successful club whose membership has increased consistently over the last 10 years, with a busy competitive calendar ranging from table top rallies to autotests and trials through to national B stage rally, primarily aimed at club level. Chelmsford ran three separate activities during National Motorsport Week including a training night for drivers and co-drivers and an autocross event. The club successfully trains, retains and cares for its marshals and has a prize fund which is distributed each year with points awarded for events marshalled.

The Motor Cycling Club (one of only 11 MSA Centenary Clubs to date) was Highly Commended by the judges and will receive a commemorative certificate. It is generally acknowledged that the MCC produces one of the best e-newsletters around - an excellent example of one of the oldest clubs also serving the modern generation. They are extremely responsible in terms of the content of their e-newsletter and their general attitude to countryside and community issues – one example was when they cancelled their famous Edinburgh Trial at the time of the recent Foot and Mouth outbreak in order to keep faith with the farming and landowning communities on which the use of their venues so much depends.

Past overall winners: Knutsford & DMC (1993), Aberdeen & DMC (1994), Ilkley & DMC (1995 & 1999), Port Talbot MC (1996), Torbay MC (1997), Woolbridge MC (1998), North Devon MC (2000), Magherafelt & DMC (2001), Scottish Rootes EC (2002), Dukeries MC (2003), Jersey MC & LCC (2004), Wigton MC (2005), Cumbria Kart Racing Club (2006).

Release MSA07-063: 2 November 2007