You are not signed in. Click here to sign in
Go back

Lewis Hamilton receives Hawthorn Memorial Trophy
The Vodafone McLaren Mercedes star received the trophy from MSA Chairman Alan Gow and received a standing ovation from the 150 invited guests representing the best of British motor sport, including former F1 world champion Damon Hill, reigning and three-time world touring car champion Andy Priaulx and all the champions of British motor sport`s domestic 2007 season.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain`s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later. Hamilton is the 18th driver to win the Hawthorn trophy, but the first to do so in his maiden year of Formula 1 competition.

"Lewis` arrival on the F1 scene last season made a huge impact, capturing the public`s imagination not only in this country but around the world," commented Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. "His performances have given us a great platform on which to raise the profile and develop the sport in this country. We were delighted that he was able to join us at the Night of Champions in order to receive the award.

"The British motor sport scene is still the best in the world as illustrated by the fact that no fewer than nine of last year`s F1 grid cut their teeth in our championships. The MSA is committed to securing increased British representation at the highest level of motor sport and as a result we are continuing to invest substantial funds into both the Race Elite programme and its sister operation in rallying. We hope that in the coming years, many of these young drivers will graduate to F1 and race at the highest level."

Previous winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959 Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1960 Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1961 Stirling Moss (GB)

1962 Graham Hill (GB) *

1963 Jim Clark (GB) *

1964 John Surtees (GB) *

1965 Jim Clark (GB) *

1966 Jack Brabham (AUS) *

1967 Denny Hulme (NZ) *

1968 Graham Hill (GB) *

1969 Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1970 Denny Hulme (NZ)

1971 Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1972 Jackie Stewart (GB)

1973 Jackie Stewart (GB) *

1974 Denny Hulme (NZ)

1975 James Hunt (GB)

1976 James Hunt (GB) *

1977 James Hunt (GB)

1978 John Watson (GB)

1979 Alan Jones (AUS)

1980 Alan Jones (AUS) *

1981 Alan Jones (AUS)

1982 John Watson (GB)

1983 John Watson (GB)

1984 Derek Warwick (GB)

1985 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1986 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1987 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1988 Derek Warwick (GB)

1989 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1990 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1991 Nigel Mansell (GB)

1992 Nigel Mansell (GB) *

1993 Damon Hill (GB)

1994 Damon Hill (GB)

1995 Damon Hill (GB)

1996 Damon Hill (GB) *

1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *

1998 David Coulthard (GB)

1999 Eddie Irvine (GB)

2000 David Coulthard (GB)

2001 David Coulthard (GB)

2002 David Coulthard (GB)

2003 David Coulthard (GB)

2004 Jenson Button (GB)

2005 Jenson Button (GB)

2006 Jenson Button (GB)

2007 Lewis Hamilton (GB)

* = world champion

Release MSA08-005: 21 January 2008

No regulatory value: for information purposes only